The Dedication Orchestra – Spirits Rejoice

The Dedication Orchestra – Spirits Rejoice

This orchestral dedication to the Blue Notes features compositions by the group’s members, played by a whole host of musicians whose paths crossed with the South Africans at some point along the way. After brief rehearsals the orchestra squeezed onto the 100 Club stage, on the first day of January 1992, for a rollicking run-through of the material, followed by two days of recordings at Gateway Studios in London, at which they committed the music to tape. A mighty recording, in every way.

Phil Minton- voice
Maggie Nichols – voice
Julie Tippetts – voice
Guy Barker – trumpet
Claude Deppa – trumpet, voice
Harry Beckett – trumpet
Jim Dvorak – trumpet, penny whistle
Kenny Wheeler – trumpet
Django Bates – E-flat peckhorn
Dave Amis – trombone
Malcolm Griffiths – trombone
Radu Malfatti – trombone
Paul Rutherford – trombone
Dave Powell – tuba
Neil Metcalfe – flute
Lol Coxhill – tenor & soprano saxophones
Ray Warleigh – alto saxophone, flute
Elton Dean – alto saxophone
Evan Parker – tenor saxophone
Alan Skidmore – tenor saxophone
Chris Biscoe – baritone saxophone
Keith Tippett – piano
Paul Rogers – bass
Louis Moholo – drums, voice

The Dedication Orchestra
Spirits Rejoice

%d bloggers like this: